Virginia medical marijuana law takes effect

Virginia medical marijuana law takes effect

In Top Stories by MediReview StaffLeave a Comment

RICHMOND – According to a release issued by Virginia NORML, on Friday, March 9, Governor Ralph Northam signed HB1251, expanding the affirmative defense for possession of medical cannabis oils to any diagnosed condition. More: Medical marijuana bill passes Virginia Senate 40-0 Here’s what this means and how it works. The change of law does not legalize possession, it provides an affirmative defense. A signed affirmative defense certificate may be submitted as a patient’s or caregiver’s defense in a Virginia court of law 10 days prior to trial if charged for possession. 1. Print the Affirmative Defense Certificate . 2. Take it to your physician and ask your doctor to sign it. 3. Keep the signed certificate with your oil at all times. 4. Present your certificate if questioned by law enforcement. 5. If not accepted and charged with possession, call an attorney or ask for court-appointed counsel. 6. Present your signed certificate 10 days prior to trial as directed. In this Monday, April 17, 2017 photo, Various cannabis oil products are displayed in the office of Georgia State Rep. Allen Peake, R – Macon, in Macon, Ga. Peake is at the center of a semi-legal statewide medical cannabis distribution network. Though he successfully championed the creation and expansion of the medical marijuana program in Georgia, there is still no legal way for patients to obtain the low-THC cannabis oil. So Peake is taking matters into his own hands. (Photo: David Goldman/AP Photo) Patients will still have to take risks to obtain oils until Virginia’s program is operational. The estimated earliest date medicine will be available at a licensed Virginia facility is late 2019. Hence, the affirmative defense process. The affirmative defense applies to oil products only. The oil must contain at least 15% CBD or at least 15% THCA-A […]

Leave a Comment